Wednesday, 20 April 2022 09:56

April 2022

The Revd Canon Peter Walley will step down from the role of Acting Archdeacon of Derby after Easter, with his last day in post being Saturday, 30 April 2022. Bishop Libby is very grateful for his generous and care-filled exercise of this role, and for his contribution to diocesan leadership since January 2021. Many colleagues share her appreciation for this faithful ministry. Canon Walley will continue in post as Vicar of the benefice of Mickleover and Assistant Curate (Minister Responsible) of the parish of Radbourne. Until the collation of the recently appointed Archdeacons, the Bishop of Repton and the Archdeacon of Chesterfield will share the duties of the Archdeacon of Derby.


The Revd Adele Barker will be licensed as interim Priest-in-Charge of the White Peak Group and interim Priest-in-Charge of Youlgreave, Middleton, Stanton-in-Peak and Birchover, on Tuesday, 24 May 2022 at 7.30pm at All Saints Youlgreave by the Bishop of Derby assisted by the Archdeacon of Chesterfield.

The Revd Graham Duncan will be licensed as Assistant Curate (known as Associate Priest) of the parish of Baslow, within the benefice of Baslow and Eyam, on Tuesday, 17 May 2022 at 4pm at St Anne’s Baslow by the Bishop of Repton assisted by the Archdeacon of Chesterfield.

The Revd Nicola Grey, Rector of Cheadle with Freehay, Diocese of Lichfield, started her new appointment as Anglican Chaplain at HMP Foston Hall, Diocese of Derby, on 23 March 2022, and currently holds the Bishop of Derby’s Permission to Officiate.

The Revd Edward Whittaker, Priest-in-Charge of Abberley, Astley, Shrawley & Witley, and Teme Valley North, Diocese of Worcester, has been appointed Priest-in-Charge of Hilton with Marston on Dove, Priest-in-Charge of Hatton, and Assistant Curate (to be known as Minister Responsible) of the parishes of Boylestone and Church Broughton with Barton Blount, within the benefice of Boylestone, Church Broughton, Dalbury, Longford, Long Lane, Radbourne, Sutton on the Hill and Trusley, Diocese of Derby.

Last modified on Monday, 09 May 2022 15:05