The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (the DAC) is a statutory body set up under The Care of Churches and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction Measure of 1991.  Its membership consists of representatives of the clergy and national heritage organisation together with some architects and others with specialist knowledge relating to the care, history and artistic content of church buildings.  The DAC draws on the expertise of a range of specialist consultants who all serve  in a voluntary capacity.


The DAC has the formal responsibility of advising the Chancellor of the Diocese on the Care of Churches and their furnishings, as well as churchyards.  The work of the DAC is vital if the Church is to retain freedom to handle its own planning consents and so protect the role of churches as places used for worship.



The Revd Canon Matthew Barnes, Chairman

The Venerable Dr Christopher Cunliffe, Archdeacon of Derby

The Revd Canon Tony Kaunhoven, Acting Archdeacon of Chesterfield

Dr Christopher Charlton OBE, former Director of Cromford Mill Project and former Secretary of the Arkwright Society, Member nominated by English Heritage

Mr James Darwin, Amenities Societies Representative

John Drackley, Adviser on Stained Glass and Memorials

Mr Alex Gilbert, Local Authorities Representative

Mr Richard Smith, Conservation Architect

Mrs Elizabeth Walker, Conservation Architect

Mr Richard Brook, Conservation Architect

Mr Nigel Sherratt, DAC Secretary

DAC Office Contact Details:

Tel No:  01332 388683





The Diocese of Derby

Contact Us

Derby Church House

Full Street, Derby DE1 3DR

01332 388650 (reception)

Church House reception: