Monday, 21 October 2013 16:02

Diocese of Derby: Facts and Statistics

Here are some facts and figures about the Diocese of Derby.

  • All the Anglican (Church of England) churches in the UK fall into either the province of Canterbury, or the province of York. The Diocese of Derby is in the Canterbury province. Read more about the Church of England and how it is structured on
  • The geographical boundaries of the Diocese of Derby and the County of Derbyshire are virtually identical.
  • The geographical area of the Diocese is around 997 square miles.
  • Its population is around 1,010,000 (the City of Derby is around 236,260).
    (Source- Derby City Council estimated during year 2000)
  • There are 255 parishes.
  • There are 330 Church of England churches in the Diocese.
  • There are 220 licensed clergy (150 stipendiary 70 NSM).
  • There are 300+ licensed lay readers.
  • Derby was founded as a city in 1977.
  • The Collegiate and Parish Church of All Saints became a Cathedral on Thursday, 7 July, 1927, although not hallowed until Friday, 27 October, 1927. It cost £10,000 to adapt the church into a Cathedral.
  • The Diocese is divided into two Archdeaconries: Chesterfield and Derby.
  • The Diocese is divided further into eight Deaneries: four in the Chesterfield Archdeaconry and four in Derby Archdeaconry.
  • Since the Diocese was legally inaugurated in 1927, there have been eight diocesan bishops
  • There have been two suffragan (or assistant) Bishops of Derby (when Derby was part of the Southwell Diocese before 1927):
    • Edward Ash Were - appointed 1889
    • Charles Thomas Abraham - appointed 1909
  • There have been six Bishops of Repton:
    • William Warren Hunt - appointed 1965
    • Stephen Edmund Verney - appointed 1977
    • Francis Henry Arthur Richmond - appointed 1986
    • David Christopher Hawtin - appointed 1999
    • Humphrey Southern - appointed 2007
    • Jan McFarlane - appointed 2016
Last modified on Monday, 10 June 2019 09:21