Monday, 18 September 2023 10:29

Bishop's Badge 2023

Bishop Libby has presented around 30 Bishop's Badges to those nominated for missional long service and missional innovation awards.

The special service, A Celebration of Lay Ministry, took place in Derby Cathedral.

The annual presentations celebrate ministry and service in church and community, and recognise the distinguished service and dedication of many individuals contributing in Jesus’s name to the mission of the church.

>> See photos from the Bishop's Badge service

Bishop Libby said: "It is always a pleasure to mark and celebrate the gifts of people across the Diocese of Derby and to thank those who offer so much to develop and sustain the life of the church and its work in the wider community.

"We give thanks for the often hidden, yet crucial and remarkable work of people who do not seek recognition, but whom we honour specially today."

The message of thanks was echoed by Bishop Malcolm in his reflection.

The service is one of three being held this year to present Bishop's Badges; the first was held to celebrate generosity and courage shown by school children towards others.

The final service will be held on Sunday, 1 October.


Those presented with Bishop's Badges on Sunday, 17 September were:

Awards for Missional Innovation

John Bird, Littleover, St Peter & Blagreaves

Jim Davison, West Hallam, St Wilfrid

Gen Tarr, New Mills, Saint George the Martyr

Margaret Weightman, Cathedral Church of All Saints Derby

Awards for Missional Long Service

Michèle Aspinall, Allestree, St Edmund

Kate Bassford, Sawley, All Saints and St Mary

Janet Bradshaw, Sutton-cum-Duckmanton

Liz Broomhead, Hartington

Christine Brown, Blackwell, St Werburgh

Bryan Clarke, Cathedral Church of All Saints Derby

Margaret Clarke, Cathedral Church of All Saints Derby

Emson Maneya, Cathedral Church of All Saints Derby

Ann Cooper, Youlgreave

Averill Crisp, Swadlincote, Emmanuel

Lynne Dawson, Old Brampton, St Peter & St Paul

Christopher Dullage, Hartington

John Entwistle, Matlock Bath, Holy Trinity

Jane Entwistle, Matlock Bath, Holy Trinity

Rob Groome, Risley, All Saints

Brenda Harrop, Youlgreave

Hannah Hawkins, Brimington, St Michael and All Angels

Sylvia Homer, Stanton by Dale, St Michael and All Angels

Zoe Leleux, Stanton by Dale, St Michael and All Angels

Sue Marsh, Bakewell, All Saints

Sally Renshaw, Tibshelf, St John the Baptist

Patricia Rhodes, Tibshelf, St John the Baptist

Cyril Roberts, Old Brampton, St Peter & St Paul

Melanie Rose, Belper, St Peter

Phil Sparrow, Chesterfield, SS Augustine

John Sterland, Swanwick, St Andrew and Pentrich, St Matthew

Mary Thompson, Smalley, St John the Baptist

Mo Tolson, Risley, All Saints

Alan Tolson, Risley, All Saints


The History of Bishop's Badge

In 1927, the Diocese of Derby was founded and Bishop Edmund Courtenay Pearce, the first Bishop of Derby, arranged for a medal to be struck to celebrate this new beginning.

Copies of the medal were presented to prominent members of the diocese and to all those being confirmed in that year.

In recent years, the seventh Bishop of Derby, the Rt Revd Dr Alastair Redfern, arranged for a replica of this medal to be minted and mounted in the form of a badge.

As the eighth Bishop of Derby, Bishop Libby continues this tradition.

Each year these badges are awarded based upon recommendations made to the bishop, as a gesture from the diocese to acknowledge outstanding service to God's church.

Last modified on Sunday, 01 October 2023 21:05

community of prayer footer sq 1080

deepening your faith footer sq 1080

giving and generosity footer sq 1080

amazing grace logo

Contact and Find Us

Derby Church House

Full Street, Derby DE1 3DR

01332 388650



Who's who at Derby Church House

Map and parking information