The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly.

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

Houses of the General Synod

There are 483 members of General Synod. Members are arranged into three Houses:

House of Bishops

House of Clergy

House of Laity


More information about General Synod and the Houses can be found on the Church of England website.


A list of General Synod members from the Diocese of Derby can be found here.

Last modified on Saturday, 16 October 2021 07:31