Derby City Deanery

Area Dean: Vacant

Assistant Area Dean: Revd Dr Simon Cartwright

Deanery Administrator: Ms Jo Simister

Derby City Deanery is made up of all the parishes in the city of Derby. It also includes chaplaincies and one Bishop’s Mission Order church. At over 250,000 inhabitants, it has about a quarter of the population of the Diocese. This population is culturally diverse and many faiths are represented. The Deanery has many characteristics in common with other inner cities – for example, it includes more than half the areas of deprivation within the Diocese.

The formation of the new Deanery as a legal entity was completed in January 2018. We launched at a Festival of Life at Boulton St Mary’s in September 2016 and we are meeting as a combined Synod representing all 35 parishes (including the Cathedral), chaplaincies and BMOs.

The parishes of:  

Allenton and Shelton Lock: St Edmund

Allestree: St. Edmund

Allestree: St. Nicolas

Alvaston: St Michael and All Angels

Blagreaves: St Andrew

Boulton: St Mary

Breadsall: All Saints

Chaddesden: St. Mary

Chaddesden: St. Philip

Chellaston: St Peter

Darley Abbey: St Matthew

Derby: St. Alkmund

Derby: St. Andrew with St. Osmund

Derby: St. Anne

Derby: St. Barnabas

Derby: St. Bartholomew and St. Luke 

Derby: St. John the Evangelist

Derby: St. Mark

Derby: St. Paul

Derby: St. Peter and Christ Church with Holy Trinity

Derby: The Cathedral Church of All Saints

Findern: All Saints

Littleover: St Peter

Littleover: TheHaven Christian Centre

Mackworth: St Francis

Mickleover: All Saints

Mickleover: St. John the Evangelist

Normanton-by-Derby: St Giles


Quarndon: St Paul

Sinfin Moor: Local Ecumenical Partnership

Sinfin: St Stephen

Spondon: St Werburgh

Walbrook Epiphany Team Ministry (incl St Augustine and St Thomas)

Willington: St Michael


And the Bishop’s Mission Order churches:

Derby: St Werburgh, Friar Gate

Derwent Oak 

The Diocese of Derby

Contact Us

Derby Church House

Full Street, Derby DE1 3DR

01332 388650